Gregory Pittman

March 12, 2021

Friday Finds (2021.03.12)

I’ve started using an RSS reader again, like we did in the mid-2000s. Maybe I’ll keep this up and maybe I won’t, but here are a few items I found interesting this week.

  1. A good leader knows they don’t know everything, including some of the details of the jobs of the people they lead. Julia Evans offers insight on how to help our managers help us.
  2. I’ve recently rebuilt my entire music library, much to the boredom of the Micro.blog community where I cataloged many of the decisions and much of the process. One of the questions: lossy or lossless? This ABX test helps you decide whether you can actually hear a difference between lossy audio files and lossless audio files. Listen to the reference (X) and choose which test sample, A or B, sounds the same as X. I got 64% correct. That isn’t a lot more than even chance, but enough to, at least in my own mind, retroactively justify my decision to go with lossless files.
  3. Lou Ottens, the inventor of the cassette tape, died this week.
  4. Apple has denied Parler’s request to return to the App Store. After the US election in November, I dipped into Parler just to see what it was all about. It was everything you’ve heard about and more. I’m not one to deny free speech, but this was probably a wise decision from Apple.
  5. Zenkit offers up competition for Roam and Obsidian, but with a significant advantage over the other two: a native iOS app.
  6. Yet another reason to stop using Amazon for books and music. I just wish there were a strong alternative.
  7. There’s still a Blockbuster store. Apparently, it’s alive and well during the pandemic. And speaking of Blockbuster, Netflix will soon air a documentary on the rise and fall of the movie rental chain and will feature that lone store.
  8. “This is not a month; this is going to be months.” The pandemic has hit everyone hard without question, but the arts will take much longer to get back to normal than just about anything else. I’ll have more to say about this tomorrow, but I’m not sure where I’ll put it yet: my personal site (probably), my microblog, or HEY.

If you have a recommendation for a blog I should follow, mention me on Micro.blog or Twitter or send me an email. (For anti-spam reasons, you'll have to be industrious and figure out my email address from the clues in this post.)