Gregory Pittman

March 28, 2021

Maybe Facebook Is Listening?

I am not a conspiracy theorist. When people have said to me, “I think Amazon and Facebook are listening to me,” I have responded with the nerdy, “Their algorithms are smart enough to know what you search for. They even know that you used to search for something but haven’t in a while, and sometimes they think maybe you need to be reminded of that thing.” Never have I thought that Amazon or Facebook were actually listening.

I’m a runner, but I haven't been able to run for a while. This morning, on the way to a performance, my wife and I passed a vehicle with a pair of nice bicycles hitched to the back. I commented that they were expensive bikes. I also added that since I can’t run, maybe I’ll get a bike. I have not searched for bikes on any device. I have not watched biking videos on any device or on television. Literally, the only biking-related thing that has happened in years was my comment earlier today.

This afternoon, Facebook fed me this suggestion. There are similar suggestions if I scroll to the right.
IMG_0141.PNG