Gerd Leonhard

March 22, 2021

What I’ve Learned From the Pandemic Year - WSJ. some good reads!

The virus has taught us that life and health are precarious and we must not squander precious time

If in the past year you played solitaire, even a single game, you wasted that time. Take it from me: I played many hands of the game and have nothing to show for the effort. Granted, I had no Zoom schooling sessions to enforce, no children to parent, no job to perform remotely. I did work, but at a studio with strictly enforced Covid-19 protocols, along with a large crew who had all been bubbled for the duration of the pandemic.

During a time of lockdowns, quarantines and social distancing, solitaire seemed like a harmless enterprise, a salve for the mind and the hands, a safety valve that meant having something to do. The deck of cards was right there on the table, and, without thinking, my hands would take up that file of 52 to riff and shuffle and cut. I never cheated to win; winning wasn’t the point. Getting close was good enough, and there was always another game, so why not deal it out? I might win this time. And what else was there to d