Jeff Goeke-Smith

November 17, 2021

The Montana Trip (Part 1)

image.png


In November 2021, I scheduled a pick up of my Go Fast Camper in Montana.  I took this as an opportunity to go explore some national parks on the way.

If you have any reason to drive I-90 in South Dakota, take, do not bypass, the badlands scenic bypass.  These photos do not do the place justice.

image.png

image.png


image.png


The land is active in the sense that the badlands are ever changing, and are slowly eating away at the viewing locations that have been established.
image.png


And it's not all dirt and rocks:
image.png


Wind Cave National park is amazing.  Take the cave tours:
image.png

image.png

The cave is being actively explored.  They find more cave almost every week, thus the replaceable paper sign.

image.png


image.png


My opinion is to not bother visiting Mount Rushmore. 
image.png


But do drive US Route 16A to Mount Rushmore.
image.png
My travel advice may be tainted by the fact that I was basically out there alone.  The perks of traveling in the off season.

image.png
Mount Rushmore was the busiest place I was at all day.
image.png


(To be continued....)