Greg Bunch

January 29, 2022

Alphaville and "je vous aime"

Have you ever watched Alphaville by Jean-Luc Godard?

If so, you're ahead of me. I'm late to the party--like 57 years late!

If not, it's a story about a secret agent sent to Alphaville to destroy the dictatorial computer that turns humanity into tranquilized logicians. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alphaville_(film) I strongly advise watching it. Various streaming services have it.

Paul Éluard's surrealistic poetry and the words, first stammered

"je"
"vous"
"aime"

then strung together fluently

"je vous aime"

are keys to the reawakening and rehumanizing of the residents of Alphaville. At least one of them.

This clip is the final two minutes https://sanlib.kanopy.com/playlist/11987353

I love technology and computers. This weekend I'm learning a new computer language, Clojure, a Lisp dialect. 

I love computers--as long as they are tools for human flourishing.

Technology, Poetry and Love for Human Flourishing! 

I don't know that it makes a great hook or strap line. But it's close to the heart of my personal mission.

It's something we hold in common!

"Je vous aime"