Greg Bunch

November 19, 2021

How will you get Tammy to buy your new product or service?

“How are you going to get your first customer to buy from you?”

People come to me several times a week with ideas for a startup.  They are usually focused on financials and product and TAM. 

I don’t care about TAM until I know how they are going to get “Tammy.” 

And, I don't mean psychographic "Tammy." I mean a real, living, breathing human being. 

Why will she take the risk of being the first customer? 

If the startup is a B2B, this is even more important. Career risk is the biggest blocker for getting early adopters for a B2B startup.  

Understanding the importance of this separates entrepreneurs from managers & consultants in established concerns.

If you are launching a new product, service or business, who will be your first customer? Why will they take a risk on you? 

How will you move from zero to one?