Gwyn ap Harri

March 11, 2021

Can one person change the world?

I’m reading a couple of books about the halcyon days of ‘britsoft’ - when it was possible for one person to create a computer game that became a smash hit. I remember playing ‘Monty Mole’ on my ZX Spectrum in the early 80s, programmed by the very talented Peter Harrap who lived in the village I went to school at, and I had the privilege to work with when he graciously wanted to give something back and was our incredibly over qualified IT technician at the school I worked at. 

But there’s something inbuilt to society that says, ‘you can’t do that...’ - no matter what you see... the two Steve’s who formed Apple. You can’t do that. Jeff who created Amazon. You can’t do that. Greta, the kid who shamed the world hopefully into some meaningful action. You can’t do that. Yeah, they have, but you can’t. 

You can’t because now it takes a big company to make a blockbuster game. It takes a trillion dollar company to get the market share you need to compete. And if you think you have an idea, someone else will pick it up and make it a success, not you. 

I remember trying to find the software I needed to do my job in 2004, and after literally hundreds of hours googling in disbelief, I realised it didn’t exist, so I decided to make it. I was constantly told I wouldn’t be able to make a success of it and even if I did, a big company would copy it (How many times was I told that!?). 

Yet even now, 17 years later, there isn’t anything that does what I want. So I’m making it. 

Am I sure it will be a success? All I know for certain is that I want it. I’m pretty sure it will be an amazing success. I think this because I believe it’s a ‘crossover’ - not just for schools but for anything and anyone. But I can’t be certain. So I’m making it. 

Not on my own, but with a small talented team within realsmart.co.uk - in fact, with one programmer, one designer and the managing director, Simon Brown. Four of us. 

Let’s see what happens, hey?

Do I believe that one person can change the world?

Yes, you can. 

About Gwyn ap Harri

Hi, nice to meet you! My name is Gwyn ap Harri - thanks for dropping by and showing some interest in this stuff. I am the CEO of XP School Trust, a group of schools in the UK that allow kids to express who they are through their work. I am also the CEO of realsmart, an edtech company that empowers us to learn more and learn it faster.

Subscribe below to keep up with the ideas I’d like to share with you. Best wishes!