Damon Hargraves

July 11, 2022

Evidence Based Instruction and Learning: The End

This post is published in partial fulfillment of Dr. Sutherland's EDL 755 course at Evangel University.

Hattie
Chapter 8 The end of the lesson



Admin observe students and learning, not teachers.

The essence of the student-centered teacher:

  1. Warmth - observable acts that show caring, not just intent
  2. Trust - students see that the teacher believes in them
  3. Empathy - can the teacher stand in the shoes of the student and see what learning is like
  4. Positive relationships - students know that the teacher understands them

Part 3 Mind frames

Chapter 9 Mind frames of teachers, school leaders, and systems


"The quality of teaching makes all the difference."

New Zealand requires contracts for professional development in schools to demonstrate agreed upon effect size gains. (p. 173)

Attention should be put on professional judgements regarding data, and not the data itself. What went in to getting the results we are getting? What can be changed? (p. 173)

A model for school leaders

  • Transformational Leaders - provide energy, mission, vision, develop capacity to work together
  • Instructional Leaders - attend to the quality of student learning, interpret evidence about the quality and nature of learning in the school
    (p. 174)
A model for change
  1. Develop a foundation for delivery
  2. Understand the delivery challenge
  3. Plan for delivery
  4. Drive delivery
  5. Develop, identify, and esteem success
Mind Frames p. 182

How we think makes an impact.
  1. A fundamental task is to evaluate my teaching effect.
  2. Success and failure depend on me, the teacher.
  3. I, the teacher, want to talk more about the learning than the teaching.
  4. Assessment if feedback about the impact of my teaching.
  5. I, the teacher, engage in dialogue not monologue.
  6. I enjoy the challenge and always do my best.
  7. I develop positive relationships.
  8. I take the time to teach students and parents the language of learning.

About Damon Hargraves

Elementary Principal & EdD Candidate
Kodiak, Alaska

Email me at hargraves@hey.com or find me on Twitter @damonhargraves.