Damon Hargraves

May 15, 2022

Make APA the Default in Word

Exported Image_2022-05-15 15-07-51.jpeg


About a year ago now I started writing my first APA papers for my Ed.D. work.  Early on, I sat down and spent a good amount of time making the most perfectly formatted APA style sheet I could muster.  Every now and then, this gets updated, but I've cut and pasted that original document many times now for multiple assignments to benefit from the style sheet that has was developed.  

Rather than cutting and pasting documents, I just discovered that you can save the style sheets from document to document and even make it the default for new documents.

Prepare Your Document

You will need to do what I did.  Take some time to use that APA Publication Manual to make the best version of a document you can.  Attached is a version that worked for me.

Save Your Style Sheet

Open up your documents Style options under the Format menu.

Screen Shot 2022-05-15 at 7.05.02 AM.png


Then select the Organizer button.

Screen Shot 2022-05-15 at 7.05.17 AM.png


Now select styles from your open document to copy over to the Normal.dotm setting. 

Screen Shot 2022-05-15 at 7.05.31 AM.png


Once you have done this, new documents that you create will automatically utilize the formatting that you have chosen.  This is very handy if you write in a certain format regularly. 

I'm sure that there are different ways, maybe better ways to do this.  Email me if you have another method.  Sorry, "use Scrivener," isn't a viable option for me...I tried. 

I like hearing from you.  Email me at hargraves@hey.com or find me on Twitter @damonhargraves.

About Damon Hargraves

Elementary Principal & EdD Candidate
Kodiak, Alaska

Email me at hargraves@hey.com or find me on Twitter @damonhargraves.