Damon Hargraves

January 30, 2022

Podcast as Class

Exported Image_2022-01-28 14-38-41.jpeg


My current class for my Ed.D. program is utilizing a structure that I've not seen before.  I've thought about it, but never actually saw it before in the wild.  

The model goes like this.
  1. Weekly reading out of a book, plus additional articles as appropriate.  
  2. Weekly forum response to reading, plus commenting.
  3. Weekly podcast episode listen.
  4. Weekly podcast response.
  5. Weekly reflection on a more general concept or synthesis.
  6. Overarching cumulative assignment.  

The podcasting is what is really interesting.  The professor is actually creating a podcast as the class progresses.  He's interviewing business leaders and other key professionals.  It's an obvious concept, so why isn't this done more?  Why haven't I ever had a class that does this?

Damon


About Damon Hargraves

Elementary Principal & EdD Candidate
Kodiak, Alaska

Email me at hargraves@hey.com or find me on Twitter @damonhargraves.