Damon Hargraves

December 3, 2021

Reading and Recall Power Tools

I never was into buying digital books until recently.  I always just liked the experience of reading in a physical book.  I like typeface, cover design, graphics, and diagrams.  I like the quickness of jumping around in a physical book.  I also like buying books used, and then reselling them, or giving them away when I'm done.  Physical books are still my go to for many personal and professional reasons ...BUT, lately I've been drawn to digital books and other digital reading for my Ed.D work.

Here's why.

  1. I'm already reading a bunch of digital content.  Most journal articles and research is being shared via PDF.  
  2. I use Apple Books and it seamlessly syncs all of my PDFs and books to all of my devices.
  3. Apple Books will read content to me even when the book is not an audio book.  Siri will provide a high quality listening experience on my phone.
  4. I can keep all of my research books and journal article PDFs together in one app for reading.
  5. I can highlight and keep notes in books and PDFs that are easy to collect and review later.  
  6. Readwise magically pulls all of my notes and highlights together and feeds them back to me to help me remember what I've read. My books sync with the use of the Readwise iBook app.  For PDFs I just email them to add@readwise.io and it's smart enough to know if I've emailed the PDF in before.  Readwise won't duplicate highlights.  More here

If you are not already familiar with Readwise, you might want to check it out.  It does a great job of helping you remember what you read.  It's amazing actually.  I have an app on my phone that feeds me a nice digestible selection of my own highlights.  I also receive a newsletter in my email with my own highlights and notes.  Not all at once, but in digestible chunks.  

I wish I had this in my undergrad.  

Damon

About Damon Hargraves

Elementary Principal & EdD Candidate
Kodiak, Alaska

Email me at hargraves@hey.com or find me on Twitter @damonhargraves.