Damon Hargraves

April 28, 2021

Tooling-up and Strapping-in

I'm now officially invested in working towards an Education Doctorate.  Beyond all the program research, application delivery, acceptance euphoria, admissions paperwork, and course enrollment, I just now paid my first tuition bill.  IT'S GETTING REAL! 

I'm in the process of tooling-up and strapping-in for the ride.  This is going to be an exciting next couple of years. 

of2ios_appicon.png


Tooling-Up = Setting up applications that I know are going to help me do the work.  Some I can use like a pro, and others I'm quicky gaining proficient status.  
  • Omnifocus - Never lose an idea or miss a deadline, and help me juggle red tape through the university.
  • Zotero - Capture research and catalogue references for everything as I go along...starting now, which will eventually help build the works cited for my dissertation. 
  • Microsoft Word - Yeah, I know, but I'm looking for practicality for all writing assignments.  I'm just sticking with what will be most compatible with sharing/sending in to professors.
  • Apple Notes - This is for messy/unorganized information capture and is good for basic recall for whatever random ideas I have or information I come across.  It works great on Mac, iPhone, iPad, and web in a crunch (which has saved me from trouble in the past).  
  • Moleskine Notebook - I like to take physical notes.  I'll use this for logging notes during class and when meeting with other groups.  I'll then process tasks into Omnifocus as needed.  
  • App for processing/synthesising NEEDED - I'm trying to decided between Obsidian and Notion.  In the end I want something that is very easy to use, and will help me make connections between ideas.
  • Time Machine - I've been relying on iCloud for years now to backup my computer.  It's worked great, but I'm reactivating Time Machine now so that I can have better versioning.  Yes, Apple Time Machine is still a thing.  
  • HHKB - This is just something that I want.  I've found this really-really-really nice portable keyboard for all of the writing that I'm going to do.  This little guy works with all the computing devices that I own, including my iPad.  I'm going to use this thing like crazy and then mount it on my wall when I'm done.  

hhkb_3_hybrid_white_printed_ecomm_296801__43830.1585925300.jpg


Strapping-in = I'm resetting my private life to accommodate this massive new undertaking.  
  • I am giving up personal projects that I can give up easily.
  • I am making critical decisions about projects that I want to keep, but might need to give up for the sake of time.
  • I am setting realistic expectations with my friends and family.  
  • I am exercising and otherwise focusing on my health.  Healthy body, healthy mind.
  • I am reading books like "How to Take Smart Notes" to aggressively step up my game on study skills and writing skills.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BG1tfC7tSYw 
  • I am listening to doctoral program related podcasts that can help inform me about my blind spots.  Lucy Kissick just finished her PhD and is a fun person to learn from.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ktLPpGeP9ic  
  • I am intentionally working to develop habits that fit with the work that I will need to do later, such as waking up early.  I'm planning on doing most of my studying and writing before work in the morning.  

About Damon Hargraves

Elementary Principal & EdD Candidate
Kodiak, Alaska

Email me at hargraves@hey.com or find me on Twitter @damonhargraves.