Maya Rushing Walker

September 22, 2022

back to work I go

I hope you are doing well! I wanted to send you a quick note to thank you for signing up for my personal blog! I haven’t written anything here since I decluttered and reorganized my newsletter in April and May, but I’m back to work again. I gave myself a little break over the summer as my children wandered in and out of the house, and I made myself available to them whenever they seemed at a loss (as happens in that tricky 20s decade). It turns out that parenting doesn’t end just because people acquire drivers’ licenses and college educations. And I’m delighted to be not only available but occasionally even sought after (!) for conversation and support.

But everyone has gone back to work, so I will, too!

I will try to have a regular schedule for these essays, but I may end up being random…because as a person I’m kind of random. So please view these notes as letters that are very personal, from me to you, the way that I email all of my friends, directly from my email inbox. I will try to send them on Fridays, but as I said, I can be kind of random. Yes, even with my closest friends!

Feel free to forward and share, if you like. And if you dislike receiving these posts by email, feel free to just visit the site and read whenever you think of it. My general newsletter will continue as usual, on the first Friday of each month, with a focus on writing news, but my essays will only be available through this personal blog. When the time is right, I’ll probably migrate this blog over to the Substack platform, where I can use some cool tools (like voice memos!) in my essays, but for now I’m going to just write to y’all the way I write to all my friends and family, right here in my email.

I’ll be writing again soon!

Cheers, Maya