Ian Mulvany

May 22, 2023

In our time - Persuasion



#Inourtime

the title was [[title]] The tags were: [[hashtags]]

I know very little about the life or world of Jane Austin, so it was a delight to listen to this episode. My aim with this series of posts is to note down things that I had learnt, however as I knew so little before it would take too long to write, so I’ll keep it to a few short observations.

  • The novel is set at the tail end of the Napoleonic wars.
  • One of the interesting social dynamics of that time is a large rise in wealth of men who had served in the navy.
Reader, it has a happy ending.

I started watching the 2022 Netflix adaptation, and I’m enjoying it.

If you want to dig into in our time episodes more there is a fantastic site that allows you to explore the archive in all sorts of ways: https://genmon.github.io/braggoscope/


About Ian Mulvany

Hi, I'm Ian - I work on academic publishing systems. You can find out more about me at mulvany.net. I'm always interested in engaging with folk on these topics, if you have made your way here don't hesitate to reach out if there is anything you want to share, discuss, or ask for help with!