Ian Mulvany

January 2, 2024

We are going to need new architectures for the web.

From Simon Willison

https://simonwillison.net/2023/Dec/19/facebook-is-being-overrun/

I picked up the link to this article: 
https://www.404media.co/facebook-is-being-overrun-with-stolen-ai-generated-images-that-people-think-are-real/

People are using image generation tools to farm the generation of 1000s of fake variants of mildly viral content to hack the aggregate attention of facebooks users. 

To combat this I believe we are going to need some better architectures for verification, when it comes to scientific research outputs. 

There are some collaborative venues for thinking about these kinds of problems, eg NISO, STM. I think coining organisations such as CrossRef and ORCID will need to play a crucial role too. 

About Ian Mulvany

Hi, I'm Ian - I work on academic publishing systems. You can find out more about me at mulvany.net. I'm always interested in engaging with folk on these topics, if you have made your way here don't hesitate to reach out if there is anything you want to share, discuss, or ask for help with!