Iori Osada

September 16, 2024

We Buy When We Want to Support

Last month I started to use products created by 37signals and decided to pay my money to those. (That's why I have my HEY World space here!)

There are two main reasons. The first one is of course those products are good for me to improve my work or life. HEY changes my e-mailbox and resurrected my e-mail value. Basecamp also changed my personal project management.

But the second one is that I want to support their products. I know their business is really healthy as far as my support isn't necessary, but I want to be one of people who supporting 37signals and their company because I agree with their concept the thing they want to make.

There are other products that I've paid money with the same motivation.

I've bought Apple products because I like their attitude, focusing on innovation and changing our lives to more amazed (Honestly I don't support their ad such as crushing culture physically tho). Also I've bought some attire cloths of "HER KAI & I" and "HONOR THE GIFT" because I like the lifestyle or passion of their owners, Kyrie Irving and Russel Westbrook.

On the other hand, there are products that I've never paid money because I don't want to support them. I don't mention specific products/companies here but I decided not to buy those forever because my philosophy doesn't follow those business.

Recently many marketers focus on various numbers of market. Of course it's common but sometimes we need to take uncommon way if you want to achieve something bigger than your organization size. If you want to beat some bigger companies, the feeling of customers is important key. We should make our products/organizations something that our customers want to support.