Iori Osada

September 8, 2024

We should put effort for success of remote work, as same with office work.

I started full-remote work several years ago and it has been successful so far. Our company's office is in Tokyo but I live in Nagano,  about 4 hours away from Tokyo by car.

Previously I lived in Tokyo and went to the office every day when the company didn't have a remote work rule. We started full remote work because Japanese government declared a state of emergency due to COVID-19. After the state of emergency ended, many companies stopped full remote work including Google and Meta, but our company didn't stop it because our business made good numbers under the remote work.

That's why I decided to escape from Tokyo. I love nature, I hate the time to commute by train, I didn't receive the benefits of Tokyo so much but only the downsides of the most crowded city. I moved to Nagano, surrounded by mountains and near a big river. It was autumn, 2022.

I know there is still a discussion about which is better, remote work or office work. I bet my life on remote work being successful because my personality is suited for remote work. I want to live where I want to live. I don't want to spend time for painful commuting. I don't want to be in a crowded place. 

Additionally, office work includes burden of shared places. I'm easy to get hot so want to make workplace cool but someone isn't, so one side needs to tolerate. On the other topic, I frequently  go toilet in the morning because I drink water well for my health, but usually an office has a few toilets. Lately tech social raises psychological safety. In my opinion, no toilet safety, no psychological safety.

Speaking my personality, I have a high tendency to be nervous so I can't focus on my work at the place where my co-workers are, especially high layer ones like my boss, VPs, presidents. (It's just my personality, they're all good men/women!)

I don't know which is better but I can say at least I'm not good with office work.

So I chose remote work option. It means I discarded the office work option and then, make the remote work option improved much. So "Choosing remote work was right" isn't correct. "I made remote work succeeded by myself" is what I did.

I guess we can say the same thing for company. Many companies and managers told that the remote work was the fault but honestly, it's not the fault of remote work. It's mostly the fault of the company.

For example, remote meeting is almost necessary for remote work but many people are lack of effort to have a valuable remote meetings. No reaction and impassivity, poor resume and poor preparation. Low quality audio, network, etc. That's why many people judge remote meeting isn't good way.

However, we can say the same things. Many people lack of effort to have a meeting at a meeting room. Office meetings have the same issues. However it's usually covered by satisfy feeling caused by just a communication. (You feel good when you have a conversation in person even if it's meaningless, right?)

Of course we should meet in person if we want to build a team strength and make relationship. Actually I went to the office once per 1 or 2 months and have a drink with co-workers in order to build relationship. However, we should separate it from a meeting which we need to proceed things. Many people mixed it in and then there are so many no-progress meetings.

That's just one of causes. Anyway, we should put a continuous effort on improving works no matter which you/company choose remote work or office work. 

In the other words, if you have a power to improve your environment, you can choose your preference and then, make it kept improved. None would complaint your choice as far as you make results. If there is, you can change your work. The remote work-ism company certainly exists, like our company!