J. Martin

April 3, 2022

A Belated Anniversary

After sending off my newsletter last week, the question popped up in my head about how long I had been writing them. A few months, at most; or that was what I thought. When I flipped through them to the beginning and counted, it turned out the number was fifty-four, adding up to more than a year. One year! So while I never missed writing one, I managed to miss its first anniversary! The first issue fell on a Monday, March 8 last year, announcing it would appear “once a week, sometimes Fridays, sometimes on the weekend.” The second issue fell on a Friday. The third, finally, fell on a Sunday—and I decided to keep it that way. Not only did it fit a lot better into my writing schedule and workflow; somehow, it also felt better to start the new week with the newsletter than to end the old one with it. And it still does! (Remember, Sunday is the first day of the week in the U.S., Israel, Japan, and many other countries. Germany, according to Wikipedia, switched from Sunday to Monday in 1976. If you know why, drop me a note.)

Again, this week was tough, including an eight-hour lecture marathon. (For different courses, so don’t worry—the students are fine! :-)) But I did get a few things published. There’s a blog post on the writing and publishing history of Lovecraft’s The Shadow Out of Time at my Voidpunk blog, and a linked-list item at my secret level just drafts on the latest development in the wake of the documentary about toxic indie studios that I mentioned last week. Spoiler: it’s depressing. Then, I put a new album on Flickr, Beijing VII: Forbidden City (40 images, CC BY-NC-SA 4.0, as always), and one re-edit from this set on Glass, from a roof structure shot at Jiao Tai Dian (Hall of Union and Peace). Plus, as usual, a few new posts with commentaries at my Instagram accounts betweendrafts and voidpunkverse.

As a game recommendation, right now for a few days, you can grab City of Brass for free at the Epic Games Store. If you always wanted to wield a whip and a scimitar in an Arabian-Nights-themed first-person single-player dungeon crawler, this game is for you.

As for your entertainment, there were three tweets that really cracked me up this week (two are spiritually related): this absolutely infernal clubnight rule; this JPG image that you can hear; and this JPG riff on the Will Smith/Chris Rock incident that you also can hear. Finally, cute animals! Here’s a cat that has mastered gravity, and here’s a little bunny having lunch together with their human. Enjoy!

J.