J. Martin

April 11, 2021

April Is the Cruelest Month

Last week I was swamped with a torrent of lectures with up to eight academic hours per day; one and a half migraines and a sore throat; and sudden hailstorms between bouts of snow. Yup, April.

Thus, regrettably, I didn’t finish any blog posts. But I published two more albums on Flickr, Stuttgart I and Stuttgart II, and I also started to fill my first Singapore album at a rate of one picture per day. 

But, hailstorms or no, I regularly go for a run, and then I either listen to lectures or podcasts. One podcast I listened to last week were the four “Thai Cave Rescue” episodes, plus an interview with diver Rick Stanton, from the Against the Odds series. It’s a dramatized documentary, excellently narrated, and absolutely nail-biting—even if you know how the rescue turned out. You can use Wondery’s website to listen to it, or any podcast service you like. (Again, I recommend the Overcast App for iOS.)

Then, I came across this fantastic short video “The Middle Finger Aimed at Italy.” It’s part of the “Rare Earth” documentary-style series that is produced by Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield and his son Evan. It’s terrific, and well worth thirteen minutes of your time.

Finally, this week’s indie game recommendation is Promesa by Julián Palacios, available for $5.00 USD (or more, at your discretion) at itch.io. Playing time is about 45 minutes: “A personal project born from a family conversation, where you wander through dreams and memories emerging from a dialogue between a grandfather and his grandchild.” It’s dreamy, it’s contemplative, and a wonderful experience to walk through.

Y’all take care of yourselves,
J.