J. Martin

May 1, 2022

Hello *taps larynx* Is This On

Oh great. Last Friday, after 24 hours of lectures that week plus one full day of oral exams for bachelor’s degrees, my voice broke away. I felt like being five minutes away from a full-scale laryngitis—with two more weeks to go at lecture speeds of 20 and 18 hrs/week, respectively, plus oral exams. After that, things will finally settle down, back to my regular teaching and writing routines. Until then, I’m going to need a lot of tea, hot lemon juice, honey, throat lozenges, and luck. (I’m not the only one with this problem; one colleague had to cancel their lectures last week because of it.)

In between, I managed to publish a few things, most of them pre-prepared. There’s a new post at my Voidpunk blog on Conan of Cimmeria, the second (purported) Lancer collection of Robert E. Howard stories, and a brief post at between drafts on SMBC’s Game Metrics in Paradise. Also, there’s a new album on Flickr with photos from the Seoul City Center, and a re-edit on Glass from a shot I took in a vintage video game arcade in Shin-Ōkubo, Tōkyō. And, of course, some Instagram posts at betweendrafts and voidpunkverse, as usual.

Finally, for your entertainment, enjoy these four stages of eating cheese and these animated sticker bunnehs!

J.