J. Martin

May 12, 2024

Now Sports

Ever since I quit my gym membership during the Corona pandemic, bought myself some shiny equipment, and took up doing workouts at home like in the days of yore, people kept asking me what I’m actually doing. So for my own convenience—because next time, I can just point them to this—here’s my schedule! The basic program is simple: 20 min running and 40 min workouts Monday through Friday with two different pull sets (chest, shoulders, triceps) for Mondays and Thursdays; two different push sets (back, biceps, forearms) for Tuesdays and Fridays; and one core set (back, abs, hips, stretching, and so on) for Wednesdays. Counting in changing and taking showers and snacks and shakes, that’s about 80–90 minutes per day well spent. And when my schedule is just too packed, I do a double set later that week or catch up on it on the weekend, so nothing’s lost. That’s it! And when I have the time and the temperatures outside rise above 70 °F, I go for longer runs/hill runs up to half-marathon distance for relaxation and enjoyment. (I never gun for time, only distance.) Keeps me in shape for the zombie apocalypse, or so I hope!

No new blog posts or albums this week (yet working on it); I’ve mostly been adding pictures to my Düsseldorf bucket on Flickr and daily travel-squaries to Pixelfed. (IG is still out of reach.) Then, I watched Miyazaki’s 2008 崖の上のポニョ aka Ponyo at the theater last week, which was wonderful, and Allen’s 2023 Coup de Chance, which was very French-y and entertaining but no masterpiece. This week, you can find me for Miyazaki’s 風立ちぬ aka The Wind Rises on Tuesday, a »Neue Musik« Oskar Gottlieb Blarr special with Notabu at Tonhalle on Wednesday, and the Sumi Anjuman opening at Sammlung Philara on Friday. I always love to meet both familiar or unfamiliar folks there for a chat and a drink, so you’re welcome!

For the Sunday Funnies, here’s a clip on “Why Chinese Students All Turn into Chefs When Studying Abroad” (on the hell site, alas) that is both extremely funny and has a great punchline.

Enjoy!
J.