J. Martin

February 6, 2022

Sneezing Is so 2019

It wasn’t Covid, but I didn’t feel too well recently—tired, especially. Maybe it was a common cold that didn’t fully develop, or its viral load wasn’t serious enough, who knows. But it’s really weird. We usually catch a common cold between two and four times in any given year, plus more serious stuff on the side. And now it’s been two years without any of this. Frankly, I could get used to that! If it means wearing a mask regularly in fall and winter, so be it. Also, now that we know we’ve been acting on faulty knowledge for decades, maybe we should introduce air filters in schools, offices, bars, and all kinds of meeting places by default? Or, like, everywhere, not unlike ACs? Can we imagine a future where our annual influenza and common cold infections would be drastically reduced? We know now that washing our hands and/or drowning them in disinfectants alone won’t do. We’ve been through that. I don’t know about you, but I could do without coming down with common colds three times a year plus extras!

Still, I got my work done, and a few other things too. On my Voidpunk blog, I wrote about the Etherfield, which, while certainly fictional, is still based on models in physical cosmology. Also, I wrote again about Wordle, but instead of another linked-list item, here’s the Wordle “Five More Things” Full Blog Post Edition, where I talk about Wordle versions in Japanese, Arabic, Hebrew, and Yiddish, and about how newspaper publishers missed the bus with respect to social puzzle games (not the only bus they missed).

On Flickr, I published a new album Xi’an V: Terracotta Army (15 images, CC BY-NC-SA 4.0), and on Glass, an image of Dorasan Station in South Korea. And, as usual, I posted several entries with lengthy commentaries on my Instagram accounts betweendrafts and voidpunkverse

Now, for your weekly entertainment, I picked this new and improved Fish Tank that you will enjoy even more if you’re a cat; this absolutely adorable Hokkaido fox in the snow; and this Wall Street Journal correction that had me in stitches all day.

See you next week,
J.