J. Martin

December 5, 2021

That Time of the Year

To start with, those who expressed their interest in an advance reading copy of my upcoming (episodic) sf-horror novel, don’t despair! I had literally no free minute left last week to get everything lined up. But I’m trying! Usually, my half-time position leaves me a lot of room to work on my own projects, freelance and personal. But my workload for lectures habitually mushrooms between October and December—the bachelor candidates need to have wrapped up their regular courses by the end of December, and the freshmen need to get jump-started with the foundations of game design right away. Thus, I have to cram into this period all my lecture blocks for the entire term. Add to that faculty meetings, student counseling, term projects support, individual and group mentoring, exam preparation interviews, and guest lectures at another university where all lectures are confined to the first half of the term in general…that’s when even my weekends go out the window.

At least, I got around to uploading another album to Flickr last Friday, with a few pictures from Kamakura (10 images, CC BY-NC-SA 4.0), and one or two new images to my Glass account.

My game recommendation this week is itch.io’s terrific World Land Trust Charity Bundle, with more than *sixty* indie games and projects for the ridiculous price of $4.99 (or more, of course, if you want to). It’s up for five more days, but there’s no reason why you wouldn’t want to go there and get this terrific bundle right away, with all your $ or € being donated to address critically endangered wildlife habitats and climate change!

Then, a music recommendation: Chinese metal band Voodoo Kungfu. The music video “Theocracy,” embedded in the linked article, is well-worth listening to, but there’s some strong/disturbing imagery in there, so be warned. However, there’s also a live performance available of Voodoo Kungfu playing together with Tina Guo, which is awesome.

For the fun stuff, here’s two (unattributable) vintage cartoons (or vintage-style cartoons, hard to tell) that cracked me up last week, and then there’s this illustrated guide to insults in different languages.

Enjoy your last two days of Hanukkah, your Advent Sunday, or whatever you like to celebrate!
J.