J. Martin

April 30, 2023

The Days Are Just Packed

For the first time in ages, not counting travel squaries at Pixelfed and a few shots at betweendrafts and voidpunkverse, I neither published any blog posts nor uploaded anything to Flickr. Not only was that week packed with 18 hours worth of lectures plus preparations and follow-up handouts, a belated bachelor exam, an important meeting with our cooperation partner at UKD (HHU University Hospital), the deadline for returning my book’s copyedited files after going through them, negotiations with my publisher about a complicated structural matter (which went well, I’m very happy), and yet another query from another publisher concerning a forthcoming book contribution that I’d thought settled. No! Around February, before any of that was fixed, I also thought it’d be a good idea to cram two art music concerts (one “classical” and one “modern classical”) and one stage play (Fassbinder) into this very week. Thus, this weekend, I’m meticulously acting out Bill Watterson’s Calvin and Hobbes adage that there’s never enough time to do all the nothing you want.

For all that, without further ado, let’s segue into the Sunday funnies! Which, incidentally, are mostly about our feline friends: a badly assembled IKEA cat; “I caught the moth”; and an early ApplePay prototype. But, as a bonus, here’s also a new “Very British Problems” post about joining a video call. Enjoy!

J.