J. Martin

January 16, 2022

The Lost Art of Grocery Shopping

Another busy week with writing, sketching, and mentoring—everything online, of course, as Covid-19 incidence rates around here are approaching the four-digit range. Still, yesterday I went grocery shopping to buy nuts, fruits, dried fruits, bread, cheese, wine, and so on for a special dinner tonight, plus ingredients for tomorrow’s veal stew. Going grocery shopping, well, that felt weird after around two years of home deliveries! Suffice it to say, it’s not among the things I dearly miss. And especially not when I have to walk two fucking miles with three fucking shopping bags to get back home, because the eso-fash mob knocked out public transportation again. So yes—the same screaming assdongles who keep us all from returning to something resembling a normal life also keep you from doing something as mundane as grocery shopping on the weekend. Fuck them, and fuck those state and federal politicians and police too who enable them.

Last week, I published three blog posts, one on Exoentities (Excuse Me, Sir, a What?) for my Voidpunk Universe; one at between drafts on theme, a topic I wrote about in-depth in my Ludotronics textbook; and one linked-list item at my secret level just drafts on Wordle, “Something Free and Fun on the Internet,” including a later update. Also, there’s my primary IG account betweendrafts, where I post personal stuff with some commentary, and my IG account voidpunkverse, where I post & pontificate on Pulp and Golden Age SF and related stuff.

Then, images! I uploaded a new album to Flickr with Pingyao I: Travel photographs (15 images), and one Pingyao image to Glass. The latter, which I took at night in a restaurant, came out surprisingly well for a casual snapshot from an iPhone 5s in poor lighting conditions.

With regard to games, I just started playing another horror indie game availabe on itch.io, Last Stop: Station 66, on which I will tell you more next week.

Finally, some fun stuff. Here’s all you want to know about Tama, the station master cat at Kishi Train Station in Kinokawa, and then there’s this majestic cinereous vulture at the Jurong Bird Park in Singapore, who fails to take flight despite some prep talk. Moreover, here’s a thread about Leonardo di Caprio’s Don’t Look Up math stunt double (yes, you heard that right!), and this picture of a comprehensively innocent cat who’s minding their own business without planning anything untoward at all.

Y’all have a great week,
J.