Jadon Barnes

December 17, 2022

Next for Fun with Ragdolls

FWR_concept2_V003-min.jpg


It's been a long time. A lot has been happening in my personal life. Most notably, I'm a daddy now! So that's pretty cool. 😁

I'm excited to announce, after months of pre-production, careful planning, and heavy consideration, the 2nd installment of Fun with Ragdolls: The Game is on the way! An entirely new game is now in production!

I've been silent, but NOT oblivious to what many of you have been wanting and requesting from tweets, emails, comments, and strongly worded forum posts, lol. I've been taking notes on the major issues with the game. I want and need to address them in this second game.

I don't want to spoil anything, but I can assure you that the second game will be worthy of a new, separate game. For starters there will be:

  • Weapons, including melee weapons!
  • More vehicles! A tank included. :)
  • Completely different gameplay style. While it will stay true to a 3rd person view, the way of playing/controlling the character will be altered and more intuitive.
  • Dedicated in-game level editor that isn't combined with the character. This will open the door to more complex level design systems!
  • Redesign of the world of Fun with Ragdolls, including the ragdoll model themselves.

And one more thing...

I want to be completely honest, but at the same time, I don't want to give false hope. So when I say what I'm about to say, take it with a HEAVY grain of salt.

Local-multiplayer!

Yes, you heard me. You aren't the only ones that want it. As a friendly reminder, FWRTG was my first big game and it just kinda blew up. I've learned a lot since, including better programming patterns and practices. Technology has also improved since FWRTG.

I'm going to try my best to get local-multiplayer working smoothly and right. Even if it doesn't get implemented for whatever reason, I wanted to let you all know I am trying! And if it just crashes and burns, hopefully split-screen will suffice. 😉

As a friendly reminder, if I go quiet, it's not because I've given up or abandoned the game, it's because I'm working hard behind the scenes, just as I have been. Game development is not a quick or easy process. This takes a LOT of time and effort.

And of course, there are many other exciting big features I’m going to keep quite about for now that I KNOW you guys will love! I can’t spoil everything! Thank you all for your patience during everything. I hope you’re all as excited as I am! You can ask my wife just how stoked I am and she'll tell you, haha!

To see the NEW ragdoll design and more updates, follow me on Twitter here. I will continue to post there.

About Jadon Barnes

Creator of Fun with Ragdolls® • Indie game developer • Filmmaker •
Create things for creators • Dad of a boy and bunny

Website | Twitter | YouTube