James Eaton

March 24, 2021

Daily Blogging Challenge - Day 24 - Vaccine

I just got the first round of the Covid-19 vaccine! 

It has been right around a year since the world shut down for the biggest global pandemic in a decade began and so much has changed in the world. Businesses have closed, lives were lost, and our world has changed forever. I contracted Covid-19 in October 2020 along with my wife and kids. It was not a fun experience in any way. We were blessed to not have too terrible of symptoms, but it was still a challenge and I am still dealing with some long-term issues even today. 

Getting the vaccine feels like marker (literally in my body) of that hard work and tenacity of some many people over the years. As quick as it can seem that this vaccine was developed, the reality is that much of this started after the first SARS outbreak several years ago. Scientists have been developing these new ways of building vaccines and this was an opportunity to implement this technology to save untold lives. For their work, and all those who supported these efforts, I am grateful. 

I’ve lost friends over the last year who were my age. As I look back on my experience with Covid, there is no reason why that could not have been me. I am grateful for my health and the health of my family, but I recognize that it could have easily been different. I watch my wife’s grandfather pass away because of Covid. It was a difficult experience, but I’m grateful I was able to be there for him and the family. The only reason I could be in that facility with him was because I had already had Covid when he contracted the virus. My was visited with him for 2 days and we had Zoom calls with the family to let everyone else talk with him and see each other. Then I went on the 3rd day and was able to be with him as he passed away. It was something I had never experienced before, and I hope it’s a while before I need to do something like that again. Seeing the pain of Covid up close was tragic. No one should have to die alone. 

But life also continues to move on. Things are changing all the time and we are doing our best to respond to the situation with some kind of plan. All my standard plans went out the window is 2020, so this year is all about adapting to what is happening in the moment. I can’t predict the future. I can’t even predict what will happen next week. But, I can live in a way where I am prepared to pivot and make the choices that I need to in the moment to make the best of the situation. 

There are going to be more speed bumps in the road this year. Unexpected events are to be expected. The only thing I can change is how I respond to those events and how I prepare personally for the day to come. 2020 knocked me down a few pegs, so I am working this year to create better routines and habits that will take me closer to where I want to be. So, I’m celebrating the fact that I survived Covid and now (almost 6 months later) have been partially vaccinated. That’s a milestone that’s worth celebrating and I am letting myself feel that gratitude and joy as I type this post. 

Tomorrow will have troubles and unknown issues, but today is a good day. I am going to celebrate the good.