James Eaton

March 25, 2021

Daily Blogging Challenge - Day 25 - Roots and Routines

I am trying to grow new roots in 2021. What have I learned about growing roots this year? Growing roots takes time! On top of that time, there is the reality that no one else can see those roots growing. There is a drive to create content and put that content into the world, but that is not sustainable if you don't have roots.

So, I am doing the quiet work of actually doing that work behind the scenes to grow in areas that I need to this year. I am spending time writing, reading, and doing that hard work of preparation this year. I have no problem putting things out in the world. I could get up and talk about almost anything. BUT, just because I can get up and talk about something does not mean that it actually matters or offers anything of value. I am working on building those roots so I can be ready when the time is right to jump into something. I want to be able to say "YES!"  With enthusiasm when an opportunity comes along because I am prepared to jump in with both feet (and not be a fraud).

“I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong.”
‭‭- Ephesians‬ ‭3:16-17‬ ‭NLT‬‬

The other side of this is reliance on God. I am reminded as I read that passage from Ephesians that Paul is reminding a group of people to remember where their strength comes from. There is a source of strength in their roots that is all built around the love of God. When we see God's love as a resource without limit, we can continue growing and loving because we realize that it's bigger than what we alone can contribute. So, there is the part that I contribute (routine) and the part that God brigs (deep roots that bring strength). When I show up I can live in confidence because ultimately there is something bigger than my own strength holding me up. 

Outer strength is easy to see, but inner strength displays itself over time. My personal challenge this year to continue in the things that God has called me to do without getting distracted by the allure of the external praise. Whether it's writing, reading, developing a skill,or just doing the personal work I need to do, there is always that draw to seek validation over actual creation. My routines will (hopefully) keep me grounded this year and God will grow the roots.