James Eaton

March 12, 2021

March Blogging Challenge - Day 11 - Satisfy

Confession. I have ultimate buyers remorse. In fact, I sometimes feel sad after I purchase something. There is a thrill of the chase when it comes to finding the perfect bag, keyboard, accessory, shirt, or pair of shoes. I LOVE the feeling of researching and hunting for something and then finding the perfect item. But at times I find myself questioning whether I made the right choice; sometimes it keeps me up at night. 

But here is what I have learned over the years about myself and what I want when it comes to buying something or adding something to my daily usage set. I need to find the item that satisfies what I actually need. I have been lured in the past by something that is “in fashion” or current that will make me think that I need to jump in and participate. Sometimes this works out, but other times I have left what I knew I actually wanted in favor of something that seemed interesting. 

Takes bags for example. I love bags. Messenger bags, backpacks, cases for my gear. If you can put an item inside of a carrying case, I’m even more excited. I even have a Pelican case for my pour over coffee setup. I started my quest for the perfect backpack several years back. I went through all the blog posts and forums I could find searching for the perfect bag. I purchased several over the years all while I had my eyes one one certain bag. I convinced myself that I could be happy with something else, but nothing I found ticked all the check boxes that I wanted with my daily carry bag. 

After a handful of backpacks that were just... not the right one. I decided to just get the bag that was going to satisfy all my needs for storage, function, pockets, and ease of organization. I landed on the Tom Bihn Synapse backpack. I got the 25 liter version and since I got this backpack I have not looked for another bag. I was searching for the right thing, and then once I got that right thing, I could just enjoy the accessory. 

That’s my new goal in any area of my life. Find the thing that actually satisfies the need and is something that I want to use. Whether that is a shirt, a bag, a coffee mug, or a pen... I’m on the look out for the right thing. Sometimes this process can become almost consuming, but I love being able to put those searches to rest when I find what I am looking for. Satisfied feels good.