JF Martin

March 6, 2021

Updated Thoughts About HEY World

I've been thinking about HEY World since writing my first post. Lot's of tidbits about it to share, and a few observations as a blogger.

Tell me more!
First, a couple of information tidbits. HEY World doesn't track it's users but we actually can see how many people are subscribing to the newsletter. We can even export the subscriber's email addresses in a .CSV file. Also important, in order to be able to reply to this post / newsletter, you have to sign up to the newsletter, using the RSS feed won't do it. Finally, the first few phrases of a post are important as they will appear in the main page as a post excerpt. 👨🏻‍💻

They knew what they were doing
I think the first post about HEY World by Jason Fried was actually a bit misleading; they knew they would launch very soon. They didn't want to make any promise so they could back down in case of some sort of pushback. HEY pushed an important update to their client around the same time HEY World launched. This update was focusing on a better email composing experience, among other things. What a coincidence. 🧐

Now, what?
I'm still thinking about how HEY World will fit in my blogger workflow. I'm starting to think that I'm spreading too much my online presence. I'm not in a hurry to decide. If you're receiving this newsletter, tell me how you will put HEY World to use by responding to this newsletter. It's a private conversation. 🙏🏻