JF Martin

March 19, 2021

Welcome to Medium Readers

To all my Medium readers who subscribed to my Friday Notes series, here on HEY World, I want to thank you for following me πŸ™πŸ». Medium is a great platform but it is not a blogging platform. Blog content should be free in my opinion. This goes against the business model of Medium, and my goals as a blogger. That's why Friday Notes is now published on HEY World.Β 

You see, writing a blog post on HEY World is easy, flexible and convenient. Blogging shouldn't be hard; tools must be out of the way. HEY World achieves that, not Medium's mobile app. Posting on HEY World is just like sending an email. Really. There is no need to manage tags, subtitle, words count limit, feature image, none of that stuff. Only text. Only ideas. Only content. That's refreshing. Sure Medium became popular with their clean web editor, but that's not as easy as writing an email. Sure WordPress already supports creating a blog post from an email, but WordPress is a CMS, and is dedicated to longer blog posts, feature posts with richer content.

So, again, thank you for reading me. Oh, if you subscribed with your email address, just hit reply to engage a private conversation with me. Blogging is also about conversation, right?

Previously published in the series (behind Medium's paywall):

  1. Let’s the Friday notes series begin.Β 
  2. Friday notes #2 β€” Discovering enablers for writers.
  3. Friday Notes #3 β€” Being a Full-time blogger.
  4. Friday Notes #4 β€” Being Full of Hope.
  5. Friday notes #5 β€” I made (some) money on Medium.
  6. Friday Notes #6 β€” A Small Incursion into the Podcasting World.
  7. Friday Notes #7 β€” Writing saved my morale during this COVID-19 pandemic.
  8. Friday Notes #8 β€” Will I Write Less when it’s all over?
  9. Friday Notes #9 β€” Writing is about taking unexpected turns.
  10. Friday Notes #10 β€” The weekly writing pressure.
  11. Friday Notes #11 β€” Digital gardens are cool.
  12. Friday Notes #12 β€” Meta blogging is a thing.
  13. Friday Notes #13 β€” HEY World.
  14. Friday Notes #14 β€” One Year of the new normal.

ΰ² α΄—ΰ² 

JF Martin aka Numeric Citizen