Jeffrey Mattison

March 8, 2021

COVID Quarantine: Day 358

It's amazing to think that for a year of hardly going anywhere, I would go through so much anyway. Most of the journey has been emotional and mental. I count Day One of the quarantine as March 13, 2020, the day that school dismissed for two weeks. Then another month. Then the rest of the school year. Certainly we'd begin the 2020-2021 school year back in person after a Summer cool down, right? No. The summer of 2020 was a hot one in more ways than one. There were so many comparisons to 1968 and all the political, cultural conflict over carnage happening mostly unseen.

The 2020 presidential campaign that seemed like it would never end almost never did, with the loser not going away until January 6, 2021. The media silence from that point to now has had a calming affect on my own news consumption. I'm no longer hoping on every day's news briefing to deliver a bombshell report that alleviates all my concerns.

If there's anything I've learned to do differently this year, it's to think differently about something that I cannot change and that upsets me to think about another way over and over again. Here's to 2021 being a year when we can move more mentally AND physically!