Jeffrey Mattison

December 29, 2021

The best present I ever received

This was supposed to be November's post, but school got very busy and it was never written... until now! 

To be honest, I can't decide on a single one. I've received many wonderful gifts from parents, siblings, friends, and relatives over the years. What a makes a present the best? Here would be my criteria:
  1. the amount of care and thought put into its selection
  2. its presentation or sense of occasion
  3. the value or usefulness it provides
  4. its longevity or quality

With these in mind, one that sticks out to me are the cookbooks that my sister and a family friend gave me on separate occasions. The handwritten introductions, the organization they put in to make it useful, and the thought they put in to what recipes would be included and of interest to me are what make them special to me and still useful over a decade later!