Joel Gaff Jr.

July 20, 2022

Synthesizing

"All creative work builds on what came before. Nothing is completely original."
- Austin Kleon

I'm constantly trying to write more, and find things to write about. The times that I have the most trouble doing so are the times when I'm not reading a lot.  The more I read and listen (podcasts and audiobooks are amazing), the more fodder I have for writing and creation.  

Furthermore, the more I read and take in, the more I realize that all these authors are simply synthesizing what *they've* read, learned, and otherwise taken in.  That's all writing really is. Bringing different ideas together to form a new one.

This emphasizes the notion that to write more/better, you gotta read/take in more.  Then pull together all the ideas you've taken in and make something new.  Austin Kleon emphasizes this point overtly in his book "Steal Like an Artist" when he says, "All creative work builds on what came before. Nothing is completely original."

Wanna write more?  Read more.  Then pull it all together.

---
More at joelgaff.com



About Joel Gaff Jr.

Junior software developer, race director, endurance athlete, creative. Oregon, Michigan, other places.

joelgaff.com