John Brady

January 27, 2023

Donkeys, Oxen, Hedgehogs: Three Animal Poems

Hedgehog.jpg


I had never heard of the French poet Francis Jammes, and loved discovering his "Prayer to Enter Paradise with the Donkeys". Jammes lived in the country and wrote religiously-inflected poems at a time when French poetry was dominated by Parisian Symbolists/Modernists. I've found very few English translations of his work. You can see Richard Wilbur, whose translation this is, talk about and recite it here.  

 ...and there  
 In that haven of souls, let it be that, leaning above   
 Your divine waters, I shall resemble these donkeys,  
 Whose humble and sweet poverty will appear   
 Clear in the clearness of your eternal love.  
 
 This past Christmas season reminded me of Thomas Hardy's classic  "The Oxen."

I wrote recently about my appreciation of Philip Larkin. Here is his hedgehog poem "The Mower", with its stunning final "While there is still time." 

IC XC NIKA
My Hello Page

About John Brady

Occasional thoughts, mostly about the Orthodox Church.