John Brady

September 19, 2023

former times and the pace of change

buggy.jpg

I was telling my granddaughter a story from when I was little. She asked "Was that a long time ago?" Yes, it was. "Did you use a buggy?" No, people have gotten around in cars since I was born.
But, I told my granddaughter, when my grandmother was a little girl, everyone used horses and buggies, but when she was a grownup, everyone used cars.
As I said this, I think I was more amazed than my granddaughter. Someone I knew well was born (in rural Ontario) into a world without cars (or telephones, or widespread electricity...): A different world in two generations.
I feel as if the world has changed radically in my lifetime too, largely through the dominance of computers and electronic communication. But I wondered if my grandmother experienced even greater change in her lifetime than I did in mine.
I don't think it's an answerable question. On what scale do we measure the degree and importance of change? And do the changes in my lifetime feel less dramatic because I was immersed in them, making it harder to look back dispassionately?
___

Gentle. Small. Humble. Slow. Simple. - The Abundance of Less
Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; give thanks in all circumstances. - 1 Thess.

About John Brady

Occasional thoughts, mostly about the Orthodox Church.