John Brady

June 27, 2023

poor phoneless fools...

I came across this today:

phoneless.jpeg


We live in a media world full of people who very literally make their living trying to keep us angry and scared. 
Sometimes they put on a pseudo-prophetic, "Wake up, people!" costume. Often they flatter us by telling us that they're giving us access to truths that the common herd are missing out on. Turn away from these voices. Consider instead the fruit of the Spirit. (Gal 5:22-23).

___
Looking up the Galatians passage, I realized that I'd remembered it as "fruits of the Spirit," instead of the correct "fruit". The qualities listed are facets of one thing.  

___
I notice in the graphic that the "poor phoneless fool" seems to live on some other planet than ours. I like to think that, even in the world we live in, we can turn our hearts in other directions.



___
IC XC NIKA

About John Brady

Occasional thoughts, mostly about the Orthodox Church.