John Brady

February 28, 2023

The natural state

the natural state of man's spirit is always  to be in prayer, in constant dialogue with God. Certainly, how to achieve this is a burning question, an issue which concerns every man that truly thirsts and seeks after the living God.

- Elder Zacharias Zacharou, Hesychasm: The Bedewing Furnace of the Heart

I chose this book to read during Great Lent, and it's going to be very challenging indeed.

Looking at the simple sentence quoted here, I'm brought back to the realization that worldly life (not just, God help us, contemporary life) is unnatural, and that much of our struggle, which we may be tempted to see as heroic, is meant simply to bring us back to something like our natural selves, that is, our selves as God designed us.

All Flame.jpg


___
Image attribution: I have a folder of images on my computer that I've accumulated over many years. Unfortunately I rarely note down where they come from. Don't let this happen to you.

IC XC NIKA
My Hello Page

About John Brady

Occasional thoughts, mostly about the Orthodox Church.