Jordan Ogren

July 25, 2022

How are you getting better at this?

I' haven't been the best leader in my short career.

I'll be the first to admit it.

I've been selfish, acted out of negativity, and failed to lift others up. Simply put, I've been a shell of the leader I could be. 

But, I've never had a "leader" title before. So why do I even care how I "lead?"

I thought you'd never ask.

We all are leaders. First, we are leaders of ourselves. 

We decide to get up, work out, read, and meditate. 
Or sleep in, eat horribly, watch TV, and jerk off.

Then, we are leaders to those in our circle of influence. 

Whether a partner, sibling, child, or friend, we own how we influence them. We control how we lead those around us. We either lead them forward, backward, or nowhere.

Then, we lead in our workplaces no matter our title. 

You can still lead others even if you're the most junior person on the payroll. This looks like showing up every day, helping others when you can, and speaking into your team members to inspire and encourage.

Back to me and how I suck at this. 

Here's what I'm doing to get better at leading:
  • Over communicating with my team
    • This looks like daily check-ins, end-of-the-day recaps, and weekly updates
  • Leading with positivity and reinforcing that with contrarian thinking
    • No matter what is going on, bringing my best version helps those around me also do the same
    • If unable to do that because of life's circumstances, let your team know that and then still show up and give it your best 

While I don't have a leader title, I will one day.

And when that day comes, I want to be prepared.

What about you? Will you be ready? 

🧠 + ❤️ // JO