Jordan Ogren

May 27, 2022

🪞 The Lookback 5/21 – 5/27

Hey there 👋

My week was surprisingly busy and thankfully productive.

I got a lot done, stayed on top of my physical and emotional health, and am hitting the weekend full sprint.

How about you?

5 things I did this week:

  1. Began to figure out how to consistently release podcasts without spending 5 hours editing a week (outsource)
  2. Ran six times for 25 miles and lifted twice
  3. Finally landed on a CRM and webinar software for MyTalentPlanner
  4. Finished reading Escape From Freedom by Eric Fromm (which is from 1941)
  5. Got approved for a loan (that's waaaay more than we imagined) to purchase a duplex


3 things I learned this week:

1. The frictionless way to live is to accept that life will suck.
Too many people live in a fantasy world that is sheltered from life's ugliness.

Whether this is by design or ignorance, it leads to more suffering. Only by looking life in the face (seeing its ugly nose) can we begin to live better as we understand how beautiful the good things.

I'm not advocating for pessimism. On the contrary, I'm championing realistic optimism.

2. 99% of people don't want advice; they want you to listen.
I'm a 99-level advice giver.

But sadly, most people don't want advice. They simply want to be heard—they want their emotions to be validated. And to be honest, what the hell advice does a 26-year-old have?

It's probably best I keep my damn mouth shut and validate that what the person is feeling is okay.

3. Burnout and depression look a lot alike.
Last year I had what I thought was a mental breakdown, and while it could have been that, I believe it was burnout.

Burnout is something I would have laughed at a few years ago. I was drunk off Gary Vee hustle juice and thought 16-hour days were the only way. Well, I've grown up a bit.

I now view burnout as the enemy and attempt to work hard in a calmer way.


1 question for you:

How did my suffering this year change me as a person (for the better)?

Thank you for reading this week's lookback!

Now it's your turn to share:
  • What did you do this week?
  • What did you learn this week?
  • What question is on your mind?

Have a fabulous weekend!

🧠 + ❤️ // JO