Jordan Ogren

June 3, 2022

🪞 The Lookback 5/28 – 6/03

Hiya 👋

Feeling like summer yet?

This week I've spent more time working outside in the sun than I ever have. It felt great. 

The heat of the sun and the sweat sliding down my armpit brought me back to my lifeguarding days. Much simpler times...

Does it feel like summer for you?

5 things I did this week:

  1. Failed to release a new episode of my pod ☹️ But I will next week - I promise (like you're waiting or something)
  2. Finished May with 104 miles!! + Ran 6 times for 28.5 miles this week (I'm in my groooove 🏃🏼‍♂️)
  3. Got dinner with a high school buddy, which proved to be rejuvenating
  4. Finished reading Marketing Rebellion: The Most Human Company Wins by Mark Schaefer – a must read for marketers of 2022 and beyond
  5. Viewed one duplex and hopefully more before making the most significant financial purchase of our lives 😬

3 things I learned this week:

1. Reoccurring trends (of suffering or hardship) are signs from the Source.
Have you ever faced the same challenge over and over again? Me neither (aside from getting out of bed every morning).

But, I have faced similar–but different–challenges around a specific area or domain of my life. I'm guessing you have too. I find that these moments can be defeating as you feel like you're doomed to never grow in that area or encouraging as this must be an important area to improve.

Either way, remain aware of the continual challenges you face and seek the deeper reason why you keep running into the challenge.

2. Don't commit to doing something for the rest of your life.
A peer on LinkedIn recently posted that he will take photos (photography) for life.

He mentioned how he struggled to make photography a habit, so he committed to doing it for the rest of his life. That's a long f*cking time. How about we do this instead: Commit to doing it today and repeat it the next day.

Do this enough times, and you'll do it your entire life.

3. Being angry at the person you hurt for being hurt is crazy.
I can be a horrible person.

I hurt those I love a lot. And then, when I can't take how hurt they are, I get angry at them for being hurt. While this mostly happens subconsciously, I became aware of it this week when I hurt Kaite.

And while I don't have a solution to thwart the initial feeling, the simple awareness of the cycle and how stupid it is to be mad at someone you hurt for being hurt is the beginning of healing. At least, I hope.

1 question for you:

What can I do today to manifest heaven for those I love?

(Prerequisite question: What does heaven on earth look like for those I love?)

Thank you for reading this week's lookback!

Now it's your turn to share:
  • What did you do this week?
  • What did you learn this week?
  • What question is on your mind?

Have a fabulous weekend!

🧠 + ❤️ // JO