Jordan Ogren

April 26, 2021

You don’t need social media to grow and improve your marketing.

I hate social media.

I would've used the F word to describe how much I hate social media, but my mom reads these emails.

Anyways, I want to loop back on a topic I’ve discussed before:

You don’t need social media to grow your {insert business/content}.

I’m serious.

You can grow your email newsletter, podcast, and most importantly, your business without the drug we call social media.

Ben Settle, one of the most prominent direct marketers to ever grace this earth has.

And many others you don’t know because they didn’t do what everyone else did.

Now, you could experience quicker or more significant growth when you leverage it. 

But that’s a question you must ask yourself:

Is the high worth the hangover?

The dependency on social media to improve marketing is a misconception I’ve had for far too long.

But I’m now slowly detaching and finding a better balance. 

For my work, it’s challenging to leave altogether, but I’m coming to realize it’s not the silver bullet and usually leaves me worse off than before I opened the tab.

I realize that I don’t need social media to market better.

My rant is over.

If you want to learn more about HOW to get clean from social media, read this article by one of my new favorite writers, Laura McKowen.

She does a far superior job shining light on the ugliness that social media brings and how we can easily dismiss our addiction. 

What are your thoughts on social media?

🧠 // JO