Joseph Hill

October 3, 2022

iPad Pro upgrade to iPad Mini!

Yes! You have read the title correct! I have decided a few months ago to upgrade from a 2021 12” iPad Pro to a 2022 iPad Mini. 

Some people will be thinking “This guy has it backwards” or “isn’t this a downgrade?” Well yes to the both of them! So, let me explain a little my iPad journey and why I decided to make this move . . . . 

For many many years now in my personal life I switched away from a MacBook to an iPad and I must say it brought a lot of challenges, but it also brought with it focus and intention. Distractions became much harder while utilizing the device and when I did switch away to another app to get distracted, it was clearly so. It wasn’t some app in the background sneaking up slowly and then before I knew it, it was a few hours later and I completely lost that time. 

Couple that with the fact that for over 1.5 years now, I switched away from a MacBook at work and switched to just using an iPad for my daily work needs (a trend which many in the company have since tried to imitate) I realize that they way I was using this truly “personal computer” had also evolved. But, there were some hurdle to really get over before I can say that I am truly a “Digital iPad Native” and that is where the iPad Mini comes in. 

You see, I am truly as digital as I can be and in some areas like Reading and Short Handwritten notes, these areas with a huge iPad was a struggle. Holding a 12” light box in bed at night while reading an eBook felt a little  . . . Awkward! And a health hazard when the device slips out of my hands and hits my head!! This is also the same when I wanted to take some quick hand written notes, the big iPad felt clumsy in the hand and a little awkward. Yes, there is the smaller iPad Pro which might fit the bill, but I wanted to challenge myself even further, you see my needs in my private life isn’t some hardcore rendering or high performance needs of such M1 chips for example, so I wanted to push the boundaries even more to a point that I can daily carry my whole private computing experience with me no matter where I am, I can read, I can take notes, I can access my digital filing system or plug into an external monitor and have the joys of a bigger screen when needed (like now when writing this, and no the letterboxed screen doesn’t annoy me anymore) 

See, for months now I truly believe I have found the true meaning of a “personal computer”, which I whip out on the train to read a book, process some mails or read the latest happenings in the world, to being able to at work pull the device out and work on some private items during lunch on a larger screen and to reading in bed without the fear of getting a black eye! 

It’s liberating, freeing and full of Intension. Switching down to a machine that truly has the power I need, the tooling I use, has really made me to appreciate my time and energy even more! 

About Joseph Hill

“I‘m a passionate product person who believes that communication and trust are the key elements to empowering people to be their very best. I’ve been a part of developing and delivering great software for over 15 years now and have worked in many different environments such as boxed products with tight shipping dates to SaaS approach which requires more agility and crucial thinking”