Kaya Olsen

March 7, 2021

Leap of Faith

I am intuitive to the core. I don't think about things and don't make decisions based on how I feel. Fear doesn't matter, discomfort doesn't matter, excitement doesn't matter. I just follow my intuition, no matter what. It is rarely easy, it is mostly terrifying, and so far it has always been the right thing to do.

18 months ago, I stumbled upon a job post on Facebook from a friend of a friend. I was in my last year of my master studies, working towards my last exams and preparing for writing my final thesis. I had two jobs, did volunteer work and had a great circle of friends.
But – just as life began to get cozy and comfortable, intuition burst through the door, champagne in hand and utterly disruptive ideas in its head.

"Hey, Kaya! You should absolutely apply for that job, move to Vienna where you barely know a soul, do your master thesis on the side, and leave everything you know behind."

Are you fucking kidding me? I thought as I hit "send" and shot my application into the aether ten minutes later. This is absolutely ridiculous!

It's been 16 months now of living in Vienna, having the most fulfilling job and being part of the most amazing team (you can read more about that here). I'm loving it. I have met the most incredible people, am working on something big and meaningful, and I haven't missed home much despite not having been back since I left. I thought I had found my place in the world. I thought this was it. 

So, you guessed it, of course my intuition would raise its voice again. 

"Kaya, you need to return home. Your future is still with Moonshot Pirates, but it isn't in Austria." Excuse me, what?

Following my intuition this time was tough. I didn't want to lose my job, but couldn't see how I could keep it if I moved back; I didn't want to lose the friends I have made, but obviously we would see less of each other; and I didn't feel attracted at all to the workload of having to move again. Living abroad during a pandemic is not that fun, and I did miss home more and more, but still. Vienna is beautiful and my life here is great. Why would I leave?

But my intuition hasn't failed me so far, so after a month of building up courage, I spoke with my colleagues about my decision to return home. And in a nutshell, this is what happened:

"Kaya, you can only leave Moonshot Pirates if you quit your job. We are not going to fire you."
"Guys, I'm only leaving Moonshot Pirates if you fire me. I'm not going to quit my job."

So, I'm going home and keeping my job and staying part of the best team ever. The relief may have brought a few tears to my eyes. I'm blown away. Imagine that you can actually have the best of both worlds! 

Following my intuition and going to Vienna was the best thing that's happened to me. Now that an equally strong urge is pulling me back home, I'm curious about what happens next. Vienna has been a rollercoaster ride of surprises. I have an inkling that Denmark 2.0 will be the same. At least, crazy things have already happened: People have appeared, opportunities have opened, and old shit has deteriorated. 

I'm terrified and super excited about this, about starting over again in Denmark. Who knows how long it takes before my intuition carries me on, but for now, this feels so right. 

#thejourneygoeson.