Kaya Olsen

October 7, 2021

Letting go of right and wrong

I've always had a strong sense of what felt right and what felt wrong. Throughout my life I let that guide me blindly, trusting my inner voice to know what I was meant to do. Making big life decisions was a lot easier this way – at least something was there to guide me, although it wasn't always easy to listen within. However, there was also some added stress arising from the fear of choosing the wrong option if my intuition wasn't shouting at the top of its lungs at me. But this was how I rolled, and I've experienced some amazing things as a result of it.

Yet, in the course of the last few weeks, I've obtained a new way of looking upon life that disregards the categories "right" and "wrong". As a 5Rhythms Teacher, I've taught this perspective over and over again, but, if I'm being completely honest with myself, I haven't lived that way. My belief in right and wrong has been such a big, albeit unconscious, part of how I viewed my journey. And it has been extremely stressful, burdensome, and debilitating.

I'm now learning to let go of that. Instead, I live life as it happens, making spontaneous choices, changing my mind, and seeing what the consequences and lessons arising will be. No more overthinking everything and panicking when my inner voice is being quiet. No more narrowing down my options. No more strictly sticking to one straight path if circumstances change. 

So, what's the consequence of this? Well: I'm not quitting my job yet. I felt sure it was the right thing to do a month ago because the circumstances of my job were so problematic and I was exhausted beyond imagination. However, instead of giving up and letting go, I (finally) expressed my discontent and brought awareness to the issues I saw the company facing. This has created a whole new foundation for me that might enable me to stay with my fantastic colleagues for a while yet. And I'm learning so much about self-care, self-expression, and empathy, too. Should this really be a wrong approach, even though quitting also felt right? 

Changing my mind feels like being untrue to myself. But I'm probably just being untrue to my ego who is a stubborn maniac. Pivoting, being flexible, and staying open to possibilities is probably the wiser choice. At least, that's what I'm telling myself when my inner judge gets loud and insists of finding the right answer and being sure I'm not doing something wrong

Life is a playground, isn't it? And is there a right or wrong way to slide down a slide if you are having fun whatever way you're doing it? I'm taking a chill-pill and a pause from worrying so much. Things are as they are. Right and wrong only happens in our heads. What a great relief.