Kent M. Beeson

June 9, 2021

[MUSIC] Big Audio Dynamite II, THE GLOBE by @KindaLikeShaft

The following is a Designated Cheerleader piece by @KindaLikeShaft for the Best Album of 1991 tournament. I hope you enjoy it, and I hope you follow the link to vote in the tournament. Thanks!

71FgJ30Bx7L._SS500_.jpg


I remember being in high school, and having my life changed by London Calling.  From the very first notes, everything was different. 

I also remember sitting through a pretty uninspiring Side 4 to the record... and when "Revolution Rock" finished playing, I stood up and went to take the record off, and put back on Side 1.  And then something happened.  The hidden track.  "Train in Vain."  Written and sung by Mick Jones.  A driving pop punk song, whiningly sung.  Instantly singable.  Mick Jones.

I was lucky enough to see The Clash twice when they played as a full band, and unlucky enough to see them once after they had "kicked" Mick Jones out.  That last one was rough.  Why did Mick get kicked out?   Legend is he wasn't "punctual" - I think he wanted to play more fun music.  Less aggressive, more melodic.  His songs always tended towards pop sensibilities.  "Stay Free" was Glory Days in a better form. "Hitsville UK." "All the Young Punks."  "Should I Stay or Should I Go."

Once Mick was on his own, he started his own band.  Big Audio Dynamite.  B.A.D.  You could tell right away the goal was fun.  Fun music.  Music that you could listen to and be happy.  They're even described as "alternative dance music" - figure that one out.

That happiness and sense of whimsy is evident when you listen to The Globe.  Mick and the band dancify, philosophize, include spoken word parts, ballad-ize, orchestrate, and autotune their way through 50 minutes of nifty shenanigans on record.  In a world that's too serious, the Globe is a musical spritz to the face.  It wakes you up and makes you feel cool.  I imagine them smiling when they recorded it, and it makes me smile when I listen.  No one hates smiling, do they?

– @KindaLikeShaft

big-audio-dynamite-ii.jpg.jpg