Ken Hilburn

April 1, 2021

Step 3: Create map mockups with bite-sized data bits.

I didn't have a clear idea of the final design for my maps when I started, so I created a number of mockups to verify usability and readability. Some of the data that I wanted to make sure was included were: 

  • Index of the difficulty of the section -- spoiler alert: it's a combination of length and elevation changes
  • Elevation profile with POI markers
  • Section highlights
  • Legend/explanation

Early iterations:


Sketch
BRG2NC_sketch.jpg


--------------------------------------------

Monochrome

Screen Shot 2021-03-17 at 12.43.26 PM.png


--------------------------------------------

Color
Screen Shot 2021-03-17 at 12.44.29 PM.png



Final design:


More space for map
Day Hiking the AT Guidebook-8x10-Springer.png


Base Maps © www.thunderforest.com; Base Map Data © www.osm.org/copyright