Takahiro Kojima

November 18, 2023

The voice of my heart

“Even though we face difficulties today and tomorrow, I still have a dream”, Martin Luther King Jr. said in 1963, around 30 years ago before I was born.

Everyone can watch and listen to his legendary speech at Washington D.C. thanks to YouTube. I recommend that you watch it if you haven’t. The sentence I quoted is the start of “I have a dream speech”.

As you know, Martin Luther King is one of the greatest people through the whole of the human history. His speech, attitude, behavior and life makes me impressed. I feel as if I could be great studying him.

I know, however, I have never continued to be like him. The barriers that makes me be like him are, in many cases, tiny and trivial things, for example, fear with other people, insufficient of effort and so on.

Even now, I face small difficulties related to the company I belong to. They're indeed big problems, at least I’m seeing like that, because these problems are called adaptive problem, which is not usually solved with technical processes like introducing tools or using much money.

On the other hand, if I see outside of the company, scene where I live is peace as if such problems don’t exist. In addition, if you remember current world problems, these difficulties inside of my company are small things in comparison current world diplomatic situation between the U.S. and China, Ukraine and Russia and Israel and Hamas.

I know. In spite of understanding with theoretically, I cannot work on our adaptive problem.

My cause of reluctant is clear. I can’t accept one of the management members in terms of his behavior to his subordinates. It seems that his behavior is sort of harassment. Above all, I’m already aware that I don’t completely trust him. I’ve become I feel working for them is just wasting my life. Consequently, I only think I have to retire, even though this way also will occur conflict between me and management of our company.

I have some strict rules to be absolutely followed in my life. One of these rules is I refuse to receive any money from individual or organization that I cannot respect. I can pay any money for them, but I can’t receive any money from them. This rule is useful for me to concentrate on what should I do.

Because I have to follow this rule, I cannot work there anymore. I can’t respect the management.

I cannot usually leave my true voice like this document in public, but I and many of my colleagues are actually Japanese, almost all my colleagues cannot reach this document. That’s why I post this Hey World.

I expect now that I will read this and feel nostalgic sense in the future. An organization I belong to may change at that time.