Kyle Nichols

April 7, 2024

My favorite things these days

I have a few things that I am throughly enjoying these days that I thought I'd share. I am a geek for gadgets, bags, and anything that is well made and lasts a long time.

Yeti Camino 50 Carryall Tote
Right now my daughter is going on day 12 in the hospital with pnemonia (should be going home tomorrow!) Moving all kinds of gear back and forth every other night needs the perfect bag and I think I finally found it after years of searching. I purchased this Yeti Tote for the pool/beach a couple years ago and it's such a well built bag. You can wash it out with a water hose and it still looks as good as the day I bought it. I can haul so much in this bag it's unreal and it's been the perfect bag these last 12 days for carrying everything I need back and forth to the hospital. I feel like this bag will be passed down to my kids as it's built just as tough as the Yeti coolers. I'm now looking at buying the same smaller bags to have as well. 

Anker Nano Charging Station(67W Max), 6-in-1 USB C Power Strip
I saw this power strip recommended by others in the tech community and I've had it saved in my Amazon cart for a while. The other day I had to work from the hospital and the plug for my work computer was a little too far away from where I was sitting in the room. So I finally ordered this strip as it was perfect use case in my current situation along with taking it on a few trips I have coming up this year. I love the skinny plug that will fit perfect behind furniture as it's flush with the wall. It's got a rubber tie down for the power cord that's well designed. This is such a perfect gift for someone who travels a lot.

NetNewsWire
While I love Reeder on my iPhone and iPad, when I'm on my Mac I use NetNewsWire as my RSS reader. It's just the most perfect Mac app and it's fast, stable, and so easy to fly through RSS feeds. I'm so happy that Brent Simmons resurrected this app a couple years ago. It's free and open source. I am not a fan of the iOS or iPad version but Reeder works fine over on those devices. But when I'm on the Mac this app is one of my most used.

Matter to Kindle
Matter is my read-it-later app of choice and they keep innovating every time I turn around. They have an awesome feature where you can send articles to your Kindle. I love this feature as sometimes when I'm on my iPhone or iPad I might get distracted with a text or notification. Also reading on a Kindle is so easy on the eyes. So now I can send one long form article or a bunch of articles I can select together and it'll send it to the Kindle as a chapter book with each chapter an article. I love this feature and use weekly. 

These are just a few things I am using right now as I type away from a hospital room. Hope you might find use for them in your life. Enjoy!