Kyle Nichols

April 1, 2024

Top 5 Apps for my iPhone

I was watching High Fidelity (absolute great movie BTW) and was thinking about my favorite Top 5's in my life. Naturally my thoughts went to my iPhone, my Mac, my iPad etc. So I thought why not create a list of my Top 5 favorite apps I currently enjoy using on my iPhone?

5. Reeder - I fell in love with RSS back during the Google Reader days (RIP) and I haven't looked back. I currently use Inoreader as my backend for RSS but Reeder is my favorite way to check my RSS on the iPhone.

4. WhatsApp - Kind of hard to imagine a messaging app is on this list, much less one that's not even that popular here in the US. I feel like WhatsApp is catching on more here in the states and it's so good for using for groups. I find group chat on it far superior to iMessage. I hope the adoption continues as I think it's the app to beat in the messaging space. Their incremental improvements are well timed with the exception of the long overdue iPad app. I spend more and more time trying to get friends and family to try this app. I love it. 

3. Hey - yep, I'm posting this in Hey World and I love the Hey iPhone app. It's simplistic, a little whimsical, and reliable. I love the Hey email service and the iPhone app is the perfect companion for it on the go.

2. Pocket Casts - There is probably not a more used app on my iPhone than this one. While I think it's not as fast as Overcast, I do love the PocketCasts organization as I listen to over 50 different podcasts. It's great at managing and organizing what I listen to. But I secretly love the end of the year Spotify Wrapped feature it has. To see how many days I've listened too and all the fun details makes this app my choice for 2024.

1. Matter - this is definitely my read-it-later app of choice by a mile. So well designed for the iPhone that you can tell they designed everything iPhone first. I average over 20,000 words a week on this app and just keep saving articles every single day to read here. It's a delightful app that I cannot wait to see what they add to it next.